The province of Ciego de Avila, gathers in its territory a wide range of proposals for leisure, with a unique nature, traditions of the past and history. With an extension of close to seven thousand square kilometers - including the islets that integrate the keys adjacent-, in that territory predominates the plain relief and the fertile lands, of vital importance to agriculture.
Between the historical elements in its geography figure the call gauge of Júcaro to Morón, considered one of the most important military monuments of the Caribbean region and the largest Spanish fortification of the nineteenth century in the island and Latin America. Its construction, carried out between 1871 and 1872, had as objective well must cut the step of Cuban Liberation Army in their advance toward the western portion of the country and to prevent the expansion of the war to those territories. The origin of this work dates back to the time of general Blas Villate de la Hera, Count of Valmaseda, who proposed to the Minister for Overseas Departments and Territories of the Spanish Crown, the construction of a gauge or fortified line from the port of Júcaro, on the south coast to the village of Moron in the north coast of the territory. With 68 kilometers long - similar length of the width of the province of Ciego de Avila-, represented a unique project defensive depth with a broad network of facilities and facilities for the rapid movement of troops. In its beginnings, three steps comprised the schema of the gauge, the first of them with outposts - some two thousand men in total - who were guarding the roads, while the second was supported in 60 forts, protected by numerous obstacles. However, the ineffectiveness of the work led to its strengthening toward the end of the nineteenth century, when already had 68 outposts, 401 listening posts, in addition to barbed wire and trenches with a railroad track along entire length for the motion up to 26 artillery pieces. The fortification never achieved the desired result, and already toward 1995 this historical stage was declared a national monument, the date on which it was rebuilt a kilometer with its original characteristics.
Also, among the key pieces of culture highlights the Teatro Principal, which finished built in 1927 and is considered by the experts as one of the best acoustics in the Cuban archipelago. Linked to this, in the environment of the province is the Parish Church of San Eugenio de la Palma, pattern of the capital city, the House of the Culture, Art Gallery and the traditions of the neighborhood Jamaica, in Baragua, the feasts of Majagua, the Parrandas of Chambas and Punta Alegre.
In the region are located important reservoirs of water as the gaps La Redonda (4.5 square kilometers), ideal for the fishing of the trout and La Leche (Milk), with some 130 million cubic meters of water, owes its unique name to the sedimentation of calcium sulfate that covers your fund, which gives it a distinctive color to the vital fluid. Of the permanent channels include rivers Caonao, with 133 kilometers long, natural limit in the northeast between the provinces of Ciego de Avila and Camagüey, and Jatibonico North, which sets out the division in the northwest with the neighboring Sancti Spiritus.